Suzuki wins as points leader Arenas crashes heavily


Suzuki led the field from pole position for the second weekend in a row, but – after dropping the order in the first Jerez race, which led SIC58 Squadra Corse team boss Paolo Simoncelli to label his performance “embarrassing” – appeared to have the measure of his rivals this time.

Although the SIC58 Squadra Corse rider was unable to shake off the competition and was often passed by rivals, he never ceded the lead for more than half a lap.

With six laps to go, Suzuki managed to pull away from the field by half a second, but CIP’s Darryn Binder – who had started down in 25th place – was able to reduce that advantage in no time.

However, Suzuki received a lifeline when McPhee (Petronas Sprinta) started chasing down Binder for second, the tight scrap between the two giving the Japanese rider much needed breathing space out in front.

Suzuki eventually crossed the line 0.064 seconds ahead of McPhee to take his first win since Misano last year, as VR46 rider Celestino Vietti took third to deny Honda a podium lockout.

Binder initially dropped to fifth after a mistake on the final lap, but was promoted to fourth after a penalty for Gresini’s Jeremy Alcoba, who had three seconds added to his race time for failing to take a long lap for repeated track limits abuse.

Alcoba’s team-mate Gabriel Rodrigo, who spent much of the race battling with Suzuki for the race, was eventually classified fifth, ahead of Raul Fernandez (KTM Ajo) and Alcoba.

The top 10 was completed by Estrella Garcia team-mates Sergio Garcia and Ryusei Yamanaka. and Snipers rider Tony Arbolino.

Aspar rider Arenas, who won the opening two rounds of the season at Losail and Jerez, suffered a nasty crash at Turn 11 with eight laps to go.

He had to be taken to the medical centre on a stretcher, but was later seen walking out of the ambulance without external support.

The team has since confirmed he sprained his ankle and suffered some bruising.

His championship lead has been cut to just six points, with Suzuki moving into second and McPhee just 10 points back now in third heading to the fourth round in the Czech Republic next month.

Moto3 Andalusia Results – 22 laps

1Tatsuki SuzukiSIC58 Squadra CorseHonda39m18.861s
2John McPheePetronas Sprinta RacingHonda0.064s
3Celestino ViettiSKY Racing Team VR46KTM0.134s
4Darryn BinderCIP – Green PowerKTM0.628s
5Gabriel RodrigoKommerling Gresini Moto3Honda0.817s
6Raul FernandezRed Bull KTM AjoKTM2.742s
7Jeremy AlcobaKommerling Gresini Moto3Honda3.315s
8Sergio GarciaEstrella Galicia 0,0Honda4.853s
9Ryusei YamanakaEstrella Galicia 0,0Honda4.887s
10Tony ArbolinoRivacold Snipers TeamHonda4.988s
11Kaito TobaRed Bull KTM AjoKTM5.301s
12Romano FenatiSterilgarda Max Racing TeamHusqvarna5.603s
13Carlos TatayReale Avintia Moto3KTM6.783s
14Stefano NepaSolunion Aspar Team Moto3KTM7.729s
15Niccolo AntonelliSIC58 Squadra CorseHonda7.776s
16Yuki KuniiHonda Team AsiaHonda17.641s
17Barry BaltusCarXpert PruestelGPKTM17.416s
18Maximilian KoflerCIP – Green PowerKTM20.821s
19Jason DupasquierCarXpert PruestelGPKTM20.833s
20Khairul Idham PawiPetronas Sprinta RacingHonda22.445s
21Riccardo RossiBOE Skull Rider Facile EnergyKTM22.500s
22Andrea MignoSKY Racing Team VR46KTM34.688s
Davide PizzoliBOE Skull Rider Facile EnergyKTMRetirement
Dennis FoggiaLeopard RacingHondaRetirement
Deniz OncuRed Bull KTM Tech 3KTMRetirement
Ayumu SasakiRed Bull KTM Tech 3KTMRetirement
Jaume MasiaLeopard RacingHondaRetirement
Albert ArenasSolunion Aspar Team Moto3KTMRetirement
Ai OguraHonda Team AsiaHondaRetirement
Filip SalacRivacold Snipers TeamHondaRetirement
Alonso LopezSterilgarda Max Racing TeamHusqvarnaWithdrawn

No hay comentarios

Dejar respuesta