Masia wins Aragon thriller from 17th, Arenas extends points lead


Masia’s last victory came last year in Argentina well over a year ago and he carved through from the sixth row at Aragon to claim the win by just 0.091 seconds, becoming Honda’s 100th different grand prix winner across all classes.

Championship leader Arenas grabbed the holeshot from third on the grid ahead of Ajo KTM’s Raul Fernandez.

Fernandez dived past Arenas up the inside of the Turn 4 left-hander, while Tatsuki Suzuki on the SIC58 Honda demoted Arenas to third later in the lap.

The top five group of Fernandez, Suzuki, Arenas, Romano Fenati on the Max Racing Husqvarna and CIP’s Darryn Binder made a quick early breakaway from the chasing Leopard Honda of Masia.

Fernandez held onto the lead until lap seven, when Binder came through at the penultimate corner, while the group headed by Masia began to close down the 2.2-second gap to the leaders.

Petronas Sprinta’s John McPhee was forced to serve a long lap penalty on the third tour for irresponsible riding in qualifying, which dropped him out of the points to 17th.

But the Scotsman soon rallied and quickly worked his way into the top 10, before moving to the head of the second group ahead of Masia by lap eight.

By lap 11 the lead group swelled to eight as McPhee, Masia and Gresini’s Jeremy Alcoba had latched onto the back of it.

Fernandez reclaimed his lead on lap eight, with Binder coming through again on the 14th tour, opening the door for Arenas, Masia and Fenati to demote the Ajo KTM to fifth.

But Fernandez muscled his way back into third on Fenati and Masia with a daring double raid through Turns 4 and 5 on lap 15, while Arenas hit the front at Turn 12.

Fernandez ensured it would be short-lived and returned to the lead at the start of lap 16.

Masia rocketed by Fernandez on the run along the back straight into the long Turn 16/17 double left, but the Ajo KTM quickly retaliated on the brakes into Turn 1.

Once again, Masia used the power of his Honda to blast past Fernandez into Turn 16 to lead the field onto the final lap.

Masia resisted all pressure exerted on him, narrowly avoiding a penalty for exceeding track limits on the run to Turn 12 to give his title hopes a small boost as he moves to within 36 points of Arenas.

Binder came through to second on the final lap for his second podium of the year, with Fernandez holding onto third for his first Moto3 podium.

Fenati was fourth ahead of McPhee – who ran wide at Turn 1 late on – with Alcoba demoting Arenas to seventh right at the death. Suzuki, Celestino Vietti (VR46) and Leopard’s Dennis Foggia completed the top 10.

With nearest title rival Ai Ogura only 14th on the Team Asia Honda, Arenas now leads the championship by 13 points, with Vietti 18 adrift.

Despite being absent owing to COVID-19 protocols, having been sat near someone who tested positive on a plane this week, Snipers Honda’s Tony Arbolino has only lost nine points to Arenas and is now 29 adrift.

Gresini’s Gabriel Rodrigo was taken to the medical centre after a heavy highside crash on lap one.

Aragon Moto3 result – 19 laps

1Jaume MasiaLeopard RacingHonda37m45.009s
2Darryn BinderCIP – Green PowerKTM0.091s
3Raul FernandezRed Bull KTM AjoKTM0.196s
4Romano FenatiSterilgarda Max Racing TeamHusqvarna0.327s
5John McPheePetronas Sprinta RacingHonda0.368s
6Jeremy AlcobaKommerling Gresini Moto3Honda0.385s
7Albert ArenasSolunion Aspar Team Moto3KTM0.396s
8Tatsuki SuzukiSIC58 Squadra CorseHonda1.933s
9Celestino ViettiSKY Racing Team VR46KTM2.389s
10Dennis FoggiaLeopard RacingHonda2.461s
11Kaito TobaRed Bull KTM AjoKTM2.966s
12Carlos TatayReale Avintia Moto3KTM3.020s
13Ayumu SasakiRed Bull KTM Tech 3KTM4.872s
14Ai OguraHonda Team AsiaHonda10.949s
15Deniz OncuRed Bull KTM Tech 3KTM10.979s
16Filip SalacRivacold Snipers TeamHonda11.172s
17Alonso LopezSterilgarda Max Racing TeamHusqvarna13.861s
18Niccolo AntonelliSIC58 Squadra CorseHonda19.761s
19Sergio GarciaEstrella Galicia 0,0Honda21.284s
20Yuki KuniiHonda Team AsiaHonda21.339s
21Riccardo RossiBOE Skull Rider Facile EnergyKTM21.379s
22Jason DupasquierCarXpert PruestelGPKTM21.440s
23Stefano NepaSolunion Aspar Team Moto3KTM21.520s
24Ryusei YamanakaEstrella Galicia 0,0Honda36.570s
25Barry BaltusCarXpert PruestelGPKTM36.628s
26Davide PizzoliBOE Skull Rider Facile EnergyKTM36.676s
27Khairul Idham PawiPetronas Sprinta RacingHonda36.739s
Maximilian KoflerCIP – Green PowerKTMRetirement
Andrea MignoSKY Racing Team VR46KTMRetirement
Gabriel RodrigoKommerling Gresini Moto3HondaRetirement

Riders’ standings

1Albert Arenas144
2Ai Ogura131
3Celestino Vietti126
4Tony Arbolino115
5John McPhee109
6Jaume Masia108
7Raul Fernandez89
8Tatsuki Suzuki83
9Darryn Binder82
10Gabriel Rodrigo77
11Romano Fenati70
12Dennis Foggia69
13Jeremy Alcoba56
14Andrea Migno47
15Sergio Garcia37
16Niccolo Antonelli33
17Stefano Nepa26
18Kaito Toba24
19Ayumu Sasaki23
20Deniz Oncu23
21Filip Salac20
22Alonso Lopez16
23Carlos Tatay14
24Ryusei Yamanaka13
25Riccardo Rossi5
26Barry Baltus0
27Yuki Kunii0
28Jason Dupasquier0
29Maximilian Kofler0
30Davide Pizzoli0
31Khairul Idham Pawi0
32Dirk Geiger0

No hay comentarios

Dejar respuesta