Foggia claims maiden win ahead of Arenas in Brno


Gresini rider Gabriel Rodrigo muscled his Honda into the lead from second on the grid at the start, though he would be usurped by Arenas from seventh on the grid at Turn 3.

A near-highside for Rodrigo at the Turn 7 left-hander broke the pack up from Arenas, who managed to open up a lead of eight tenths of a second by the end of the lap and threatened to break away.

Aspar’s Arenas is carrying some nasty bruising on his left leg following his fast crash from the lead at the Andalusian GP last month and admitted he didn’t expect to be able to race at Brno.

His lead was eaten into by the chasing pack by lap three, with poleman Raul Fernandez attempting – but failing to execute – a pass for the lead on his Ajo KTM at Turn 9.

By lap six, Arenas had been relieved of his lead from Foggia, who fended off all attacks on the position through to the final lap.

Honda Team Asia’s Ai Ogura launched a raid on Foggia on the last lap into Turn 3, but the Leopard rider scythed back through at Turn 4.

Foggia’s hopes were dealt a boost when Arenas carved up Ogura at Turn 12 for the run up the hill to the penultimate corner, giving the Leopard rider enough margin to get through the final turns safely to claim his first win.

It comes after the Italian left Valentino Rossi’s VR46 Academy at the end of last year.

Arenas opened up his championship lead back up to 18 points after taking the chequered flag in second, which he admitted in parc ferme came as a result of “learning to suffer” with his injury.

Ogura moves into second in the standings after claiming third, with Niccolo Antonelli just missing out on the rostrum in fourth on the sole-remaining SIC 58 Honda after Tatsuki Suzuki crashed out on lap 10.

John McPhee came from 18th on the grid after a crash in qualifying to finish fifth on the Petronas Sprinta Honda, which keeps him third in the standings, 19 points down on Arenas.

Fernandez was sixth at the chequered flag ahead of Gresini’s Jeremy Alcoba, while Tony Arbolino (Snipers Honda) was awarded eighth ahead of Max Racing’s Romano Fenati following a photo finish.

Stefano Nepa completed the top 10 on the second Aspar bike.

Moto3 Czech Republic Grand Prix Results – 18 laps

1Dennis FoggiaLeopard Racing39m06.370s
2Albert ArenasGaviota Aspar Team Moto30.205s
3Ai OguraHonda Team Asia0.251s
4Niccolo AntonelliSIC58 Squadra Corse0.381s
5John McPheePetronas Sprinta Racing0.509s
6Raul FernandezRed Bull KTM Ajo0.808s
7Jeremy AlcobaKommerling Gresini Moto30.889s
8Tony ArbolinoRivacold Snipers Team1.647s
9Romano FenatiSterilgarda Max Racing Team1.648s
10Stefano NepaGaviota Aspar Team Moto38.815s
11Kaito TobaRed Bull KTM Ajo8.828s
12Darryn BinderCIP – Green Power8.849s
13Celestino ViettiSKY Racing Team VR468.866s
14Andrea MignoSKY Racing Team VR468.986s
15Deniz OncuRed Bull KTM Tech 39.089s
16Sergio GarciaEstrella Galicia 0,09.124s
17Ryusei YamanakaEstrella Galicia 0,09.589s
18Carlos TatayReale Avintia Moto39.723s
19Gabriel RodrigoKommerling Gresini Moto312.594s
20Ayumu SasakiRed Bull KTM Tech 312.656s
21Barry BaltusCarXpert PruestelGP23.720s
22Khairul Idham PawiPetronas Sprinta Racing23.766s
23Jason DupasquierCarXpert PruestelGP31.955s
24Davide PizzoliBOE Skull Rider Facile Energy36.734s
25Filip SalacRivacold Snipers Team47.046s
Jaume MasiaLeopard RacingRetirement
Yuki KuniiHonda Team AsiaRetirement
Tatsuki SuzukiSIC58 Squadra CorseRetirement
Alonso LopezSterilgarda Max Racing TeamRetirement
Maximilian KoflerCIP – Green PowerRetirement
Riccardo RossiBOE Skull Rider Facile EnergyRetirement

No hay comentarios

Dejar respuesta