Lowes wins as Bastianini takes points lead after VR46 duo crash


Marc VDS’ Lowes took his first win in four years last week at Le Mans following a late crash for long-time leader Jake Dixon, and once again benefited when Bezzecchi fell from the lead on the penultimate lap.

Bezzecchi jumped poleman Lowes off the line at the start to take the lead, while Petronas Sprinta’s Dixon briefly moved ahead of his fellow Brit on the run to Turn 1.

But Dixon ran wide and allowed Lowes back into second, with Fabio Di Giannantonio moving into third on the Speed Up while his team-mate Jorge Navarro crashed after contact with Marcos Ramirez exiting Turn 1.

Di Giannantonio would capitalise on a slightly wide Lowes on the run into Turn 12 on the opening lap to take second, though the Marc VDS rider carved back through again at Turn 2 at the start of the second tour.

Bezzecchi’s lead stood at half a second over Lowes and he maintained an advantage of around four to six tenths as he resisted the pressure exerted on him throughout much of the 21-lap contest.

His VR46 team-mate Marini crashed out on lap three at Turn 14, blowing the doors off this 2020 Moto2 title fight.

Di Giannantonio charged into second again on lap eight ahead of Lowes before taking the lead from Bezzecchi two tours later.

But the Speed Up rider’s race lasted until lap 11, when he crashed at Turn 2, releasing Bezzecchi back into the lead.

Enea Bastianini came through from 12th on the grid to start hounding Ajo KTM’s Jorge Martin for third in the latter stages, making his first move on lap 15 with a neat scythe up the inside of Turn 13.

Martin retaliated at Turn 1, with Bastianini coming through again at Turn 8 and the pair continued to debate the spot, which allowed a gap of over three seconds to open up to the leading duo.

As the race entered its penultimate lap, Bezzecchi’s lead over Lowes had extended to eight tenths and victory looked assured.

But the VR46 rider crashed at Turn 2 to compound his team’s miserable Aragon GP.

Lowes kept it tidy to the chequered flag for his second win of 2020, while Bastianini got the better of Martin on the last lap for second to take the lead in the championship.

The MotoGP-bound Italtrans rider leads Lowes by two points in the standings, with Marini five adrift and Bezzecchi 25 down.

Dixon put the crushing disappointment of Le Mans behind him to claim a career-best fourth ahead of SAG’s Remy Gardner, who prevailed in a tussle with American Racing’s Ramirez.

Pons’ Hector Garzo, the sister American Racing bike of Joe Roberts, Tetsuta Nagashima (Ajo KTM) and Simone Corsi on the MV Agusta completed the top 10.

Moto2 Aragon result – 21 laps

1Sam LowesEG 0,0 Marc VDSKalex/Triumph39m33.202s
2Enea BastianiniItaltrans Racing TeamKalex/Triumph4.195s
3Jorge MartinRed Bull KTM AjoKalex/Triumph4.340s
4Jake DixonPetronas Sprinta RacingKalex/Triumph9.298s
5Remy GardnerONEXOX TKKR SAG TeamKalex/Triumph14.765s
6Marcos RamirezTennor American RacingKalex/Triumph15.130s
7Hector GarzoFlexbox HP 40Kalex/Triumph15.192s
8Joe RobertsTennor American RacingKalex/Triumph17.024s
9Tetsuta NagashimaRed Bull KTM AjoKalex/Triumph19.000s
10Simone CorsiMV Agusta Forward RacingMV Agusta/Triumph20.206s
11Augusto FernandezEG 0,0 Marc VDSKalex/Triumph22.661s
12Thomas LuthiLiqui Moly Intact GPKalex/Triumph22.692s
13Edgar PonsFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Kalex/Triumph22.995s
14Stefano ManziMV Agusta Forward RacingMV Agusta/Triumph23.301s
15Marcel SchrotterLiqui Moly Intact GPKalex/Triumph23.989s
16Xavi ViergePetronas Sprinta RacingKalex/Triumph26.747s
17Lorenzo Dalla PortaItaltrans Racing TeamKalex/Triumph26.862s
18Nicolo BulegaFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Kalex/Triumph27.686s
19Hafizh SyahrinKipin Energy Aspar Team Moto2Speed Up/Triumph27.761s
20Lorenzo BaldassarriFlexbox HP 40Kalex/Triumph27.892s
21Bo BendsneyderNTS RW Racing GPNTS/Triumph36.250s
22Andi IzdiharIdemitsu Honda Team AsiaKalex/Triumph44.779s
23Somkiat ChantraIdemitsu Honda Team AsiaKalex/Triumph45.687s
24Xavier CardelusKipin Energy Aspar Team Moto2Speed Up/Triumph47.231s
25Kasma KasmayudinONEXOX TKKR SAG TeamKalex/Triumph58.178s
26Piotr BiesiekirskiNTS RW Racing GPNTS/Triumph1m05.154s
27Jorge NavarroMB Conveyors – Speed Up RacingSpeed Up/Triumph3 Laps
Marco BezzecchiSKY Racing Team VR46Kalex/TriumphRetirement
Fabio Di GiannantonioMB Conveyors – Speed Up RacingSpeed Up/TriumphRetirement
Luca MariniSKY Racing Team VR46Kalex/TriumphRetirement

Riders’ standings

1Enea Bastianini155
2Sam Lowes153
3Luca Marini150
4Marco Bezzecchi130
5Jorge Martin95
6Tetsuta Nagashima79
7Joe Roberts74
8Remy Gardner72
9Thomas Luthi72
10Marcel Schrotter61
11Aron Canet61
12Xavi Vierge59
13Augusto Fernandez54
14Lorenzo Baldassarri47
15Fabio Di Giannantonio45
16Jorge Navarro41
17Jake Dixon35
18Hector Garzo34
19Marcos Ramirez25
20Stefano Manzi20
21Hafizh Syahrin18
22Nicolo Bulega17
23Simone Corsi14
24Somkiat Chantra10
25Bo Bendsneyder5
26Edgar Pons5
27Lorenzo Dalla Porta5
28Dominique Aegerter4
29Mattia Pasini0
30Andi Izdihar0
31Kasma Kasmayudin0
32Piotr Biesiekirski0
33Jesko Raffin0
34Xavier Cardelus0
34Alejandro Medina0

No hay comentarios

Dejar respuesta